Nakshatra Book Tag

Hello! Today I will be doing the Nakshatra Book Tag, which was created by Leelynn @ Sometime Leelynn Reads to promote the release of Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar. I have not been able to read Star Daughter yet, but am hoping to get to it soon as I have heard it’s amazing!

While I am not qualified to educate anyone on Nakshatra or Hindu astrology, Leelynn shared this link on her original post to provide more information on the subject.

The Rules

  • Thank the person that tagged you and link to their post.
  • Link to the original creator: Leelynn @ Sometimes Leelynn Reads! Please note that she used the artwork/graphics if you end up using them. The banner graphic was made by Natalia @ Al Garete Latinx
  • Answer the questions to the best of your ability. No wrong answers here!
  • Tag some people you think would would have fun doing this tag.
  • Copy-paste the rules and prompts.

R.F. Kuang

R.F. Kuang is the author of The Poppy War and its sequels. This series is beloved by the book community (and rightfully so). I was astonished to learn that she began writing The Poppy War at 19 and was published at 22. Not only did she masterfully write a dark fantasy at such a young age, she also utilized her knowledge of 20th century China to create a world based around true events. In this great interview, she talks about why it is important to acknowledge this history and not ignore it.

Ephyra from There Will Come A Darkness

Ephyra will do ANYTHING to protect her sister. You could say she exists solely for that purpose. I won’t say anymore though because I don’t want to spoil it!

Kvothe from The Name of the Wind

So… I could not think of characters that fit this prompt! Finally, I remembered that Kvothe played the lute in The Name of the Wind. (It has been few years since I read this book, so don’t judge me!) If you have book recommendations with musical characters, let me know in the comments!

The Unseen City of Weep

from hodderscape.co.uk

In all honesty, I was not a big fan of Strange the Dreamer. The writing style did not appeal to me like it did for many people, and it was super slow paced. But, that does not mean I wouldn’t love to visit Weep. It sounds like a fascinating place.

Elias from An Ember in the Ashes

I am not really sure how to define “hero” for this prompt, so I am choosing my own way! I love and respect Elias so much because of his empathy. Although he exists within a system that benefits him and disenfranchises others, he choses to not accept the norm and questions why his life is considered worth more than others. He goes beyond not participating in this system and combats it by helping others, even if it puts him as risk. Radical empathy is heroic!

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

Skyward has some of the best sci-fi world-building I have read! I haven’t read the sequel, Starlight, yet, but Skyward ended with so much potential that I can’t help but be excited to find out more about the world.

Have you read Star Daughter yet? If so, let me know in the comments! If not, don’t forget to add it to your TBR!


4 thoughts on “Nakshatra Book Tag

  1. I love books with musical characters and The Name of the Wind, so I’m really glad you mentioned Kvothe for that question! 😊 If you’re looking for some other good books with music, though – The Winner’s Curse trilogy, the If I Stay duology, or Daisy Jones & The Six are a few I would really recommend 😉
    And I did not know R.F. Kuang was that young! My enormous respect for her has just intensified even more…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome – and I have! I really love The Wise Man’s Fear, too, although there is one section of it that I think is extremely stupid and unnecessary (if you ever decide to read it, think Felurian 🙄). But the rest of the book more than made up for it in my opinion 😊 I do get why there are mixed opinions, though, so this is one where you’ll probably just have to see for yourself…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment